Alan Lamson photo 2010.JPG

Alan Lamson


37-year Member (@2017).

Manchester, CT Chapter
"Silk City Chorus"
Alexandria, VA Chapter
"Alexandria Harmonizers"

Society President, 2011-2012
District President, 2003-2004
District Barbershopper of the Year, 1999.


Northeastern District

The Alan Lamson Award

Awarded and presented to an individual who best exemplifies the qualities of an outstanding chapter president. It is presented each year at the Fall District Convention during the Saturday night award presentations, for the previous years' achievements.

[NOTE:  The 2016 award to be presented at the 2018 Spring Convention (tbd: Eastern or Western); it was missing at the 2017 Fall District Convention.]

Posted Tuesday, November 21, 2017

Gentlemen of the Northeastern District:

As current members of the Northeastern District, we are soliciting your input for nominations for NED Chapter President of the Year (The Alan Lamson Chapter President of the Year Award) for 2016. Note this is for the last full year, which was 2016, and not for the current year 2017.  You are encouraged to nominate individuals that you believe have been outstanding Chapter Presidents during 2016.

Why are we doing this now, when 2017 is almost over? There was a miscommunication during the year, and we plan to present this 2016 award at our Division contests in 2018. Remember, you are nominating individuals whose achievements took place in 2016.

Please note that the deadline for submission is January 1st.  All entries are due by this date.

This letter is addressed to all current chapter treasurers, secretaries and executive vice-presidents as well as the current district board of directors and all past presidents of the Northeastern District.  We will also broadcast through the district website and the division Yahoo groups the nomination form and seek any input we might get through those channels.

Please pay particular attention to the characteristics for qualification as outlined on the Nominating Form.  These are a direct reflection of the characteristics spelled out in the award description in the Operating Code.  Remember, we are looking for the chapter president who made things happen in his chapter during 2016 and not the chapter president who happened to be president when things happened – an important distinction, we are sure you will agree.

Feel free to add additional information to that requested on this Nominating Form.  The better you can explain why you are submitting your chapter president for last year, the better we will understand his strengths and importance to your chapter.  We are providing this as a Word document so that you may use it to insert all of the information we are seeking on each name submitted.

Access the form HERE: <<< SEE ABOVE >>>

Should you have any question, do not hesitate to call any one of us on the selection committee.

Alan Lamson Chapter President of the Year Award Committee:

Mike Soper              207-400-9184   (email completed forms to Mike)
Don Hewey               508-393-6089
Danny Anderson     203-947-1957